Clearing House Mechanism

UNESCO World Heritage Site

The Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage (known as the World Heritage Convention or WHC) was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO in 1972. To date, it has been signed by 163 States Parties. Using 10 criteria of Outstanding Universal Value, the WHC defines the characteristics of natural and cultural sites that can be considered for inscription on the World Heritage List (which currently includes 1,031 properties).

Myanmar has seven natural sites on its WHS Tentative List: Northern Mountain Forest Complex, Hukaung Valley Wildlife Sanctuary, lndawgyi Lake Wildlife Sanctuary, Natmataung National Park, Myeik Archipelago, Ayeyawady River Corridor and Taninthayi Forest Corridor.